Follow this List of Your Favorite Musicians and Bands on Twitter!

Are you using Twitter to interact with your friends and family? Twitter is a micro-blogging service where you can send links and brief bits of news to your followers, reply to “Tweets” and get the latest news from people you follow. If you are already using Twitter, then you might want to consider follow your favorite bands and musicians, too! (We hope that you “follow” Musicnotes! Our Twitter account is located at: @music_notes.) Well, we’ve scoured the web to find a nice, long list of musicians and bands who have embraced this medium.

Bands and Musicians on Twitter

This is a long list of bands and musicians who are on Twitter whose musical styles range from pop to classical. By no means is this a comprehensive list, but as far as we can tell, these accounts represent the “official” band or performer. Sometimes, it can be hard to tell whether or not the Twitter ID is actually the person you’re looking for, but we’ve done our research and believe these to be accurate. If you find an inaccuracy, please comment below and we will remove from this list.

You’ll notice that there is a healthy mix of indie, popular and legendary music icons in this list. Don’t be afraid to check out bands or performers you’ve never heard of; many of these Twitter accounts have a link to their MySpace page so you can check out their music. Today’s unsigned band might very well be tomorrow’s superstar!

Are you in a band? Do you write songs? Love music? Whether you are a fan of a band, songwriter, musician, singer or you are one yourself — please add your Twitter account to this list! Let’s keep the music flowing and support musicians and songwriters everywhere!

Twitter Account Musician or Band
@oblivionpact Brett Gurewitz, Bad Religion
@britneyspears Britney Spears
@thisisblocparty Bloc Party
@benkweller Ben K Weller
@musewire Muse
@gerardway Gerard Way
@weareskylarkin Sky Larkin
@thewombats The Wombats
@oasisofficial Oasis
@CandyBilyk Candy Bilyk
@thesubways The Subways
@choochootheband Choo Choo
@ffaf Funeral for a Friend
@thesedanvault The Sedan Vault
@HadoukenUK Hadouken
@SpeakeasyTiger Speakeasy Tiger
@michaeljamesway My Chemical Romance
@imogenheap Imogen Heap
@davefromlondon David Rowntree
@riverscuomo Rivers Cuomo
@hothotheat Hot Hot Heat
@cardinology The Cardinals
@rootsmanuva Roots Manuva
@remhq REM
@anberlin Anberlin
@kristinhersh Kristin Hersh
@reginaspektor Regina Spektor
@DaveJMatthews Dave Matthews
@catherineAD Catherine AD
@PearlJam Pearl Jam
@theraconteurs The Raconteurs
@dananananaykroy Dananananaykroyd
@jayreatard Jay Reatard
@WeezerOfficial Weezer
@thefaint The Faint
@johnvanderslice John Vanderslice
@ingridmusic Ingrid Michaelson
@wendyandlisa Wendy and Lisa
@saratea Sara T.
@heybobnanna Bob Nanna
@qoolquest Questo of the Roots
@terranaomi Terra Naomi
@teamyacht Team Yacht
@theteenagers The Teenagers
@calvinharris Calvin Harris
@nickcave Nick Cave
@robert_smith Robert Smith, The Cure
@tomwaits Tom Waits
@ahmetzappa Ahmet Zappa
@souljaboytellem Soulja Boy
@QtipTheAbstract QTip
@johntesh John Tesh
@MCHammer MC Hammer
@jonathancoulton Jonathan Coulton
@snoopdogg Snoop Dogg
@tayzonday Tay Zonday
@the_real_shaq Shaquille O’Neal
@SaraBareilles Sara Bareilles
@patrick_wilson Patrick Wilson, Weezer
@common Common
@andrewhand Andrew Hand
@bjork Bjork
@carlalynnehall Carla Lynne Hall
@coldplay Coldplay
@dangerradio Danger Radio
@NicholasHoward Nicholas Howard
@lobelia Lobelia
@JeffKrantz Jeff Krantz
@botched Gustaf Fjelstrom
@KaitlinMcGaw Kaitlin McGaw
@Kelly Richey Kelly Richey
@ihatemornings Ben Walker
@stevenguerrero Steven Guerrero
@johntaglieri John Taglieri
@jodyg Jody Gnat
@steinebone Todd Steinhilber
@taylorswift13 Taylor Swift
@QtipTheAbstract Josh Charles
@warriorgrrl Laura Kidd
@NatalieGelman Natalie Gelman
@kalliopimusic Kalliopi
@HeatherMariePh Heather Marie Phillip
@dizmas Dizmas
@tellingontrixie Telling On Trixie
@thecab The Cab
@heymonday Hey Monday
@grahamenglish Graham English
@simonlittle Simon Little
@JeffSchmidt Jeff Schmidt
@MarkWilliams13 Mark Williams
@RBPviolinist Rachel Barton Pine
@IncaMaya Inca Maya
@SLessard Stefan Lessard, Dave Matthews Band
@matthewebel Matthew Ebel
@alunvaughan Alun Vaughan

Leave a Reply

37 comments

  1. Pingback: American Idol Songs, Sale on Heart and More in “The Whole Note” | InTune

    • Monica

      You’re welcome! We’re all music lovers!

  2. Brendan

    How do you ever forget one of the best ones: @Matisyahu

  3. sony_music

    Good list – add sony_music to the list

  4. Can I shamelessly add myself to this list please? No spin, just a desire to be heard in the Twitterverse!

    I write an online album. A new song every week, since Dec 2007.

    All the best folks!
    @boyatheart

  5. There’s more!

    Pete Yorn @peteyorn

    The Hold Steady @unifiedscene

    Mute Math @mutemath

    Colin Meloy from Decemberists @colinmeloy

    Spencer Tweedy (Jeff Tweedy’s son) @tweedyson

    Jimmy Eat World @jimmyeatworld

    Have fun kids…

  6. Monica

    And another one from Twitter! We love you guys!

    @affinityzero

  7. Monica

    A fellow Twitter addict offered us a few more to add to this list. THANKS!

    A few musicians not on your twitter list:
    @geoffsmith
    @mkio
    @iscintilla
    @paulandstorm
    @rhettmc
    @linklamont
    @mynameischance

  8. Brian

    Here is a good one!

    Lions and Scissors @lionsandscissors

  9. amanda

    hey i lover twitter that talk

  10. Tiffany

    Also, Building Rome: @buildingrome

  11. This is great… to help keep an updated list of bands on Twitter, I put together a shared/collaborative spreadsheet that lists bands/artists and record labels using Twitter. People have started adding/updating… which should help keep it current.

    Check out the list here: http://bit.ly/4LqM and you can add new artists or record labels using this form: http://bit.ly/JRrK

    Lastly, please feel free to embed the list on your blog!

    Thanks.
    g.

  12. Pingback: bands what twitter « WE ARE THE HIVE DUBLIN

  13. @InIsolation
    @theamberherd

    Check this too, for Indie fans and bands to find each other – the latest hashtag phenomenon devised by @InIsolation, which uses the Twitter search facility: http://tinyurl.com/faibwed

    :)

  14. valenz96

    Wow. This is good stuff. Great idea!

    • Monica

      Thanks for adding your band to our list! :)

  15. FROM AUSTIN, TX:

    Ainjel Emme – @ainjelemme
    Suzanna Choffel – @suzannachoffel
    Kacy Crowley – @kacycrowley
    Johnny Goudie – @johnnygoudie
    Sara Hickman – @sarahickman
    Aimee Bobruk – @aimebobruk
    Ray Prim – @rayprim
    Laura Scarborough – @misslaurahere

    FROM NYC:

    Vanessa Bley – @vanessabley
    Bonnie Baxter – @bonniebaxter

    FROM LOS ANGELES:

    Mia Sable – @miasable
    Reeve Carney – @reevecarney
    Arden Of Eden – @ardenofeden
    Fuji Minx – @fujiminx
    Robin Davey – @therobindavey

  16. Rich Platz, thehappydrummer

    In my opinion, Musicnotes is a fair deal. One must see though, that I do not find the jazz that I need, and would purchase. You could start, Musicnotes, with Herbie Hancock, Miles Davis and Duke Ellington. How was this ever overlooked anyway, as jazz is an inherent part of the American Culture, our classical if u will!
    Any comments to my inquiry would be welcomed.
    Rich Platz, The Happy Drummer

    • Monica

      Rich, I’m really not sure what you mean. We have quite a few jazz sheet music favorites through http://www.musicnotes.com including all of those artists that you listed and more. This post is to highlight some of the bands and musicians that use Twitter. :)

  17. Mikey

    @awesomethndrblt electro-rock

Next ArticleAmerican Idol Songs, Sale on Heart and More in "The Whole Note"